WebQuest

Catholic Social Justice Teaching

Process

20111016050639pyRyM.gif

Your first responsibility is to review the Catholic Social Justice Teaching power point that is attached below. Make sure you take notes on the power point. There will be a test on these issues and themes. The power point can be accessed throughout this lesson.

You will be divided into groups of three and be assigned the issue your group will research. 

 Your next step is to read through this WebQuest, and looking through the web links listed under the issue your group is assigned.  While looking at these links, search for images, quotes, statistics, and any other information you can find to help you define the issue, show its importance, why it is a problem, and how we can work to overcome it. 

 After collecting all the information you want and need, you will organize this information into a presentation and a poster or PowerPoint to go along with your groups lecture.  You will be given more class time to work on this part of the presentation, although that time will be minimal. 

 Finally, once all of your information is put together in a presentable fashion, your group will present the social justice/civil rights issue at hand and explain to us 1) why it is a problem, 2) what we can do about it, and 3) what lessons we can take from the American Civil Rights Movement in working to stop this injustice.

 Below you will find a set of links that shoudl work for most all of your topics.  Below that are sets of links that are topic specific.  Go through the all-purpose links and then research the links of your group's topic. Finally, you should Google your topic for any additional information you may want or need.  Do NOT use Wikipedia.

 All Purpose:

When you reach these pages, see what is available on their home page, and then type your topic into the website’s search engine.

 Child Labor and Sweat Shops:

Child Labor Coalition: http://www.stopchildlabor.org/

Child Labor Project: http://www.childlaborphotoproject.org/childlabor.html

Co-op America: http://www.coopamerica.org/programs/sweatshops/

AFL-CIO: http://www.aflcio.org/corporatewatch/stop/

Global Exchange: http://www.globalexchange.org/campaigns/sweatshops/

United Students Against Sweatshops: http://www.studentsagainstsweatshops.org/

World Bank Global Child Labor Program: http://web.worldbank.org/WBSITE/EXTERNAL/TOPICS/EXTSOCIALPROTECTION/EXTCL/0,,menuPK:390559~pagePK:149018~piPK:149093~theSitePK:390553,00.html

Living Wages:

Employment Policies Institute: http://www.epionline.org/index_lw.cfm

Living Wage Campaign: http://www.livingwagecampaign.org/

Let Justice Roll: http://www.letjusticeroll.org/

ACORN: http://www.acorn.org/index.php?id=2668

News Article: http://www.commondreams.org/headline/2009/04/15-3

Healthcare:

Universal Health Care Action Network: http://www.uhcan.org/

Wise Geek: http://www.wisegeek.com/what-is-universal-health-care.htm

Right to Healthcare: http://www.righttohealthcare.org/

National Health Care for the Homeless Council: http://www.nhchc.org/humanright.html

Council on Foreign Relations: http://www.cfr.org/publication/13325/#1

Poverty:

Poverty: http://www.poverty.com/

Global Issues: http://www.globalissues.org/issue/2/causes-of-poverty

The Heritage Foundation: http://www.heritage.org/Research/Welfare/bg1713.cfm

Institute for Research on Poverty: http://www.irp.wisc.edu/

Women’s Rights:

National Organization for Women: http://www.now.org/

American Association for Affirmative Action: http://www.affirmativeaction.org/

Coalition of Labor Union Women: http://www.cluw.org/

Equality Now: http://www.equalitynow.org/english/index.html

Global Fund for Women: http://www.globalfundforwomen.org/cms/

NY Times Article: http://www.nytimes.com/2009/04/16/world/asia/16afghan.html?_r=1&hp

Right to an Equal Education:

Center for American Progress: http://www.americanprogress.org/issues/2008/06/comparability.html

Equal Education Act: http://www.maec.org/laws/eeo.html

U.S. Dept. of Education: http://www.ed.gov/about/offices/list/ocr/eeolep/index.html

Equality & Education: http://www.equaleducation.org/

ERIC: http://www.eric.ed.gov/ERICWebPortal/custom/portlets/recordDetails/detailmini.jsp?_nfpb=true&_&ERICExtSearch_SearchValue_0=EJ759633&ERICExtSearch_SearchType_0=no&accno=EJ759633

Death Penalty (U.S.):

Death Penalty Information Center: http://www.deathpenaltyinfo.org/

Death Penalty Focus: http://www.deathpenalty.org/

NCADP: http://www.ncadp.org/

Links to pro and anti death penalty organizations from the University of Alaska: http://justice.uaa.alaska.edu/death/procon.html

Criminal Justice (U.S.):

Department of Justice: http://www.ojp.usdoj.gov/bjs/prisons.htm

Prison Policy Initiative (Resources page): http://www.prisonpolicy.org/research.html

World Prison Population List: http://www.kcl.ac.uk/depsta/law/research/icps/downloads/world-prison-population-list-2005.pdf

Daily Emerald (Editorial/Opinion) : http://media.www.dailyemerald.com/media/storage/paper859/news/2008/03/04/Opinion/Prison.Statistics.Call.U.s.s.Priorities.Into.Question-3250021.shtml

 Right to Die:

Compassion & Choices: http://www.compassionandchoices.org/

Final Exit Network: http://www.finalexitnetwork.org/

Oregon Death with Dignity Act: http://www.oregon.gov/DHS/ph/pas/index.shtml

http://www.oregon.gov/DHS/ph/pas/faqs.shtml

Death with Dignity: http://www.deathwithdignity.org/resources/courts.asp

http://www.deathwithdignity.org/press/internat.asp

Right to Self-Defense:

NY Times Article: http://www.nytimes.com/2006/08/07/us/07shoot.html

CSM Article: http://www.csmonitor.com/2006/0224/p02s01-usju.html

Analysis of Supreme Court Ruling: http://www.scotusblog.com/wp/analysis-defining-a-right-of-self-defense/

Use of Force: http://www.useofforce.us/

Oregon v. Sandoval: http://www.publications.ojd.state.or.us/S53457.htm

Oregon Law: http://www.leg.state.or.us/ors/161.html

Other Issues are able to be selected with teacher permission 

The Public URL for this WebQuest:
http://zunal.com/webquest.php?w=118159
WebQuest Hits: 4,823
Save WebQuest as PDF

Ready to go?

Select "Logout" below if you are ready
to end your current session.