The HBCU - Past, Present & Future



Historically black colleges and universities (HBCUs) were originally founded to educate African-American students in the United States after the Civil War and Reconstruction. Prior to their establishment, and many years afterwards, African-American students were denied college admission to traditional universities due to segregation.   As a result, HBCUs became the principal means for a college education for thousands of African-Americans. In fact, many famous African-Americans attended HBCUs such as Martin Luther King Jr., Jesse Jackson, Toni Morrison, Alice Walker and Oprah Winfrey.  South Carolina has eight HBCUs:  Allen University, Benedict College, Claflin University, Clinton Junior College, Denmark Technical College, Morris College, South Carolina State University and Voorhees College.  

Where are these colleges located within South Carolina?  
Who established these institutions for higher learning?  
What challenges did these founders face?  
What does the future hold for these colleges and universities?

The Public URL for this WebQuest:
WebQuest Hits: 7,167
Save WebQuest as PDF

Ready to go?

Select "Logout" below if you are ready
to end your current session.