Layers of the Earth


The Layers of the Earth

     Earth can be compared to an apple, or a peach beacuse of it's many layers. The crust is the outer layer of the earth. It is made mostly out  of rocky materials such as armite. The crust is broken into 12 major plates. These plates are slowly drifting on top of the next layer, the  mantle. The plates are both move horizontly and vertcity. It is the movement of these plates that cause weathering, volcanic eruptions, and sea flood. The idea that the contenients are changing their positions is called the Continental Drift Theory.

  • The Crust is the thin layer of dirt and rock that we live on. The Crust is about 33 kilometers thick.
  • Underneath the Crust is the Mantle. The Mantle is the hot, molten lava that sits about 2,900 kilometers below the Earth's sufrace.
  • The Outer Core is about 5,170 kilometers into the Earth. It is surronded by the Mantle and is liquid.
  • Below the Outer Core, is the Inner Core which is 6,413 kilometers underneath the Earth's surface. The Inner Core is made up of solid iron

The Public URL for this WebQuest:
WebQuest Hits: 1,009
Save WebQuest as PDF

Ready to go?

Select "Logout" below if you are ready
to end your current session.